So let’s write a Dissertation…

Rough Dissertation Thoughts (relating to the video game industry)

Un-Organised Mess of Thoughts!

The biggest bane of any student, “What do I write my dissertation about?”; I actually feel a little ahead on this as I know from the bottom of my heart it has to be related to the video game industry, no questions asked. As a art and design student I do feel a little hesitant as the subject doesn’t directly reflect upon my practise with the possibility of limited support for an out of subject topic in the school of art and design; however this subject matter fascinates me and is a industry I aim to be part of. As you can see above I roughly jotted down potential questions and subject matters in Google Keep through mostly a combination of my own knowledge and a little research. What a big, wonderful and scary subject matter to explore! I brainstormed matters ranging from the value of contemporary media, censorship, ‘art games’ vs. video games and the obscured definition of what a video game actually is but eventually, I have decided on the topic ‘The Controversy behind Scores, Ratings and Grading’, primarily targeted towards the video game industry which I’ll pitch to my constellation tutor tomorrow. In further and less gibberish than my notes, I want to explore the controversy of social, gender and political opinion in critic and the repercussion of adding a summary score, the effect review aggregate sites (e.g. Metacritic) have by manipulating alternative score structures (e.g. 2/5, 30/50, 6/10) to their own (#/100), ‘buyers guide’ review and professional game critic review and the consequence of being one, the other or both today and lastly compare how other artistic industries (e.g. traditional art, film, television, etc.) have dealt/currently deal with these issues (of course, as I research more into my dissertation proposal, I’ll find more sub-topics to explore). I aim to come to a conclusion about the inclusions of summary scores in reviews and hope to create recommendations about the handling of review score/summary in the future.

Leave a Reply

